Skip to content

Kicking off this blog with 30 Days to a Better Man!

August 18, 2011

The Art of Manliness is a blog that seeks to revive the lost art of manliness. It is also a blog that I enjoy and share with friends, male and female, that are interested in a more intentional way of life. One such friend has decided to follow a 30-day series of daily assignments from The Art of Manliness for her feminism blog and I have decided to undertake this project of self-improvement along with her.

Day 1: Define Your Core Values

Here are the ones I came up with on the train to work:

1. Family & Friends – being good and kind to them, honoring and respecting my relationships, taking care of the ones I love

2. Self-improvement and maintenance – aggressively bettering myself intellectually, emotionally, physically and socially and holding onto the gains I make; not getting lazy or letting myself go.

3. Awareness and Honesty – remembering to examine everything about me, including the environment and people around me and our interaction. Questioning my choices and circumstances and testing my ideas against reality.

4. Humor and Flexibility – enjoying life and appreciating its understated grace. Being able to find the fun and adapt pleasantly to every situation.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

