Skip to content

Practice for Success #1: Read and Wander

August 19, 2011

I work in downtown Boston between Government Center and the State House. In terms of areas of Boston that I am familiar with, I would rank it third behind Chinatown and Mass General. However, an hour for lunch affords the opportunity to search out some good eats amongst the fast food and to (re)discover the heart of Boston.

When I lived in Chicago (tear), I relied on the excellent TimeOut Chicago first and foremost followed by Metromix Chicago and a few good blogs like Smokin’ Chokin’ and Chowing with the King. Unfortunately, TimeOut Boston and Metromix Boston are nowhere near Chicago’s weeklies and online resources in terms of breadth, depth, or frequency. But the Boston Phoenix has come to my rescue with its restaurant reviews and cheap eats.

So here is a shot from my first Boston cheap eat: Cafe Latino in Central Plaza with its faithful rendition of Puerto Rican roasted pork shoulder and delicious rice and beans. The plantains were a disappointment but I was willing to overlook them because they took up such a small proportion of this hefty $7 lunch.

Crispy, crunchy pork skin + moist, rich pork shoulder + flavorful rice and beans = 1st successful Boston cheap eat

Moreover, my family has driven by Central Plaza many a time on our way to Chinatown, but I’ve never had the opportunity to go up and in – it’s beautiful! With lunch options and outdoor dining, I will have to take as much advantage as possible of this urban oasis.

Speaking of urban oases, I love the Public Garden. Boston Common might be more famous, but the Public Garden is far lovelier. I met a dear friend for a picnic there my first week of work.

PS – I did shine my shoes in accordance to Day 2 of 30 Days to a Better Man. Photos for inspection tomorrow. I didn’t do so well on Day 3 but I’ve thought of an acceptable alternative. Until then.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Pattycakes permalink
    August 19, 2011 1:24 pm

    I’m not going to lie, I looked at the picture of your lunch before reading your thoughts, and my first thought was “Man, those plantains look kind of sad.” I’m so glad to hear that the rest of the lunch was tasty! Also I am super excited about all of the pictures.

  2. Chickpea permalink
    August 21, 2011 4:26 pm

    Damn it. Should have tried harder to make it up to Boston. Sorry bro.

Leave a Reply

