Skip to content

Day 4: Increase Your Testosterone

August 20, 2011

The Art of Manliness post

This day was initially tricky to me because I didn’t know if I (being female) should be trying to increase my testosterone too or if I should be trying to increase my estrogen. I’m a bit suspicious of estrogen even though I know I’m full of it because of something I read or heard about too much estrogen being the culprit behind breast cancer.

Tangent: On a walk with my brother last night, he informed me that the lady counterpart to “sausagefest” is “estrafest.” Nice.

I figured I’d take a look at The Art of Manliness’s suggestions and if they sounded fine and not liable to make me more hairy than usual, that I would go ahead and do them. Here’s how Day 4 turned out:

“1. Get at least 8 hours of sleep tonight”
I think I got 7? Didn’t have the alarm on but I’m on a five-six hour schedule so I woke up without meaning to.

“2. Do not smoke at all today”
I’m not a smoker so I can’t count this one.

“3. Do not eat anything with soy in it.”
I think I’m good on that count.

“4. Meditate for at least 10 minutes.”
I should do this before bed.

“5. Do resistance training.”
Yes! Went to the gym today and I even taught my dad how to use some of the machines.

“6. Eat a serving of good fat.”
Yep – peanuts at lunch, almonds and avocado at dinner.

“7. Eat a serving of animal protein.”
Easy check.

“8. Eat a serving of cruciferous vegetables.”
I…don’t think so?

“9. Have morning sex(if your partner is willing, of course).”
Haha, I wouldn’t have minded but no.

4/9 testosterone-increasing suggestions. I wonder if my testosterone went up today…?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Chickpea permalink
    August 21, 2011 4:38 pm

    When you move in with the guys I think your testosterone is likely to increase by virtue of proximity. Y/N?

    • cissyhuang permalink*
      August 21, 2011 5:11 pm

      At a child’s birthday party, I was on a potato racer team with two guys. Our team name was “Two and a Half Men.” I wasn’t the half.

      • Chickpea permalink
        August 23, 2011 7:19 am

        How exactly does one race a potato?

      • TBarz permalink
        September 8, 2011 1:27 pm

        WHO WAS THE HALF???

      • cissyhuang permalink*
        September 9, 2011 7:19 am

        Adam. lawls.

  2. cissyhuang permalink*
    August 23, 2011 10:22 pm

    You stick an axle and wheels into it. And decorate to reflect the awesomeness of Phineas and Ferb. There may be a photo on my Facebook or last year’s blog.

  3. Pattycakes permalink
    August 25, 2011 2:55 am

    I definitely had to look up what cruciferous vegetables were. That wikipedia entry gives you like three good reasons to never eat broccoli again.

    • cissyhuang permalink*
      August 25, 2011 10:27 pm

      What were these reasons? I had broccoli on my pizza today.

    • TBarz permalink
      August 25, 2011 11:06 pm

      i love you in a very non-manly way, Pattycakes

Leave a Reply

