Skip to content

Day 5: Cultivate your Gratitude

August 21, 2011

The Art of Manliness post – nicely written

“Task #1: Make a list of 10 things you are grateful for”

1. I’m grateful for the lush green patches on my lawn that feel great under bare feet.
2. I’m grateful for this morning’s pearly white light on my face.
3. I’m grateful for the gentle breeze that blew around the house and me.
4. I’m grateful for the warmth of the sun despite the cloud cover.
5. I’m grateful for the ability to feel alright on 7 hours or less of sleep (although I should and want more.)
6. I’m grateful for my brother’s delicious fried rice.
7. I’m grateful that I can spend time with my family this year.
8. I’m grateful for the thick fuzzy ruff of fur around my cat’s neck.
9. I’m grateful for the pleasing things on the internet.
10. I’m grateful that even though we are all in different places, my friends from college and I are keeping in touch.

“Task #2: Give 3 thank yous to 3 different people today”

I thanked Cookie last night during a long and great phone conversation for nominating me to speak at our graduation. I should have also thanked her for what a class act she was about it.

I just called Brother Lagos to thank her for reminding me of this project’s existence and inspiring me to become a better man along with her. We also had a pleasant chat.

I try to thank my parents every day for the myriad things parents give their children. Our parents give us so much at every moment that it sometimes seems impossible to be grateful for everything without becoming overwhelmed or seeming trite. But I try to say my thank yous sincerely and when it can brighten their day and make them feel truly appreciated.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Chickpea permalink
    August 23, 2011 7:18 am

    I knew it was Cookie! (I actually didn’t, but I wanted to cheer triumphantly for the mystery being solved.) : )

Leave a Reply

