Skip to content

Day 12: Create Your Bucket List

August 31, 2011

Hi readers,

Sorry to have missed you all yesterday, but with a busy afternoon and early evening at the Boston Children’s Museum for the Countdown to Kindergarten Celebration, I was a little too tired to post. However, I am moving into the city soon and there’s no time like right now to do the things I want to be doing – like reading papers and staying on schedule.

Without further ado, Day 12 of 30 Days to a Better Man

I’ll go ahead and give the AOM categories a spin with my own twist. I’m also limiting this particular list to three each but rest assured that I can come up with more:

Travel short-term – Go somewhere fun with my family this winter. Visit my cousin in Toronto. Return to Chicago in the spring.

Travel long-term – Go on a road trip. See a desert. Explore southeastern Asia.

Relationships short-term – Continue to enjoy being in MA with my family. Invite UChicago friends to visit me. Take advantage of proximity to best friends.

Relationships long-term – Become an active alumna of UChicago. Get married within the next 8 years. Have kids within the next 10 years.

Career short-term – Learn grant writing. Do more development work once the events planning slows down. Have concrete and substantial accomplishments for my resume.

Career long-term – Get a clerkship. Join Navy JAG. Become a judge and teacher.

Financial short-term – Be disciplined about creating budgets and tracking spending. Save at least $100 each month. Invest wisely in clothing for law school.

Financial long-term – Get a job out of law school that will allow me to pay off my student loans within 10 years of graduation. Make enough to own more than one home. Become a landlord.

Entertainment short-term – See shows at Boston’s well-known venues. Do all of Boston’s brewery tours. Stick with Gen. Inc. book club.

Entertainment long-term – See Taylor Swift live. See Adele live. Go to ACL, SXSW, and Glastonbury.

Education short-term – Learn grant writing. Learn more Excel. Revisit martial arts and rugby.

Education long-term – Be in the top 10% of my class at UT Austin. Get on Law Review. Win Moot Court.

Health short-term – Lose 10 lbs every three months for a total of 40 lbs. Eat less meat. Remember to apply moisturizer and sunblock.

Health long-term – Lose the weight in a healthy fashion and keep it off by living well, not on a diet. Get lots of time outdoors. Sleep 8 hours a night.

 

How I’m working on these goals:

I did a bit of research on plane tickets to Puerto Rico for the winter. I’m also going to apply for my US passport so that I can come back after going to Canada. Surely there are deserts near Texas?

A good friend from UChicago and I have discussed her coming to visit me in September. I have joined the Alumni Schools Committee, volunteering to do five admissions interviews while in Boston this year. I’m also going to attend a UChicago-sponsored lecture.

I can definitely add Back-to-School Jamboree and the upcoming Middle O! to my resume. Once those and the first days of school are put away, I can turn to my development work and grant writing lessons. As for law school, I’m trying to stay in mental shape by reading voraciously and then attempting to write essays.

I have purchased a few good pieces from Talbots this summer and my spreadsheet is set up for the move. I reapplied to UT Austin last week.

I have tickets to see the Naked and Famous at the Paradise Rock Club in October. I’m moving to Austin, TX where ACL and SXSW happen.

I got Excel training on VISTA Friday but I should probably take out a book. One women’s rugby team practices very close to my new apartment so I should contact them. Read, read, read, write, write, write.

Going to the gym. Will take bike to new apartment. Food will substantially change without parents overfeeding me. Will enjoy my new, very green surroundings until the snow prevents me from doing so. At which point, I will sign up for martial arts. In the spring, a return to the outdoors and rugby.

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Brother Lagos permalink
    September 1, 2011 12:56 am

    You. Me. Train to Istanbul -> Goa, and then maybe train through Vietnam, Cambodia and Thailand?

    LEMME KNOW, BROOOO.

  2. Cookie Monster permalink
    September 1, 2011 1:15 pm

    I had no idea you wanted to become a landlord someday! That’s awesome.

    Grant writing is possibly the single most useful skill in the world, so please teach me someday once you’ve learned it.

    Sorry I failed at calling you earlier this week – my trip to Chicago was unexpectedly elongated. I’ll get in touch with you properly soon!

    • cissyhuang permalink*
      September 1, 2011 9:13 pm

      You’d better. But after Labor Day. 🙂 We should exchange photos of our new abodes.

      • Cookie Monster permalink
        September 1, 2011 9:22 pm

        After Labor Day it is… hopefully I’ll have students by then that I can gush about! I’ll see what I can do about pictures too.

  3. Chickpea permalink
    September 5, 2011 8:58 am

    My state has dessert. It has very pretty dessert. Also, in late August/early September of next year it will have me. When do classes start in Austin?

    • cissyhuang permalink*
      September 5, 2011 11:16 pm

      Desert and dessert? And, let’s make plans.

  4. TBarz permalink
    September 8, 2011 1:25 pm

    Let me know what Excel books are helpful; I need to learn this too.

    Love the way you broke up this list. I’m thinking of doing an Art of Ladyness month myself in the near future. My goal is not to change any of the tasks, because they’re basically all gender-neutral ideas.

Leave a Reply

