Skip to content

Day 13: Declutter your Life

September 1, 2011

The Art of Manliness Post

Dear AOM, I’m already there – world-class purger here. My problem is more likely throwing too many things away than holding onto junk.

What do I collect? The same things Franklin, Emerson, and Thoreau probably collected (not the Spartans though – collecting kills is generally frowned upon in this day and age) – books, letters, notes, friends…

I like to purge my possessions at least once a year if not more often. Usually the purges occur around the New Year and the beginning of summer. Right now, there are bags and bags of clothing from the entire family in the basement awaiting a trip to Salvation Army. Unwanted books have already been given to friends who want them and sold back to Amazon. I also made a decent amount of money (maybe $50-100?) selling things like lava lamps, a scooter, and a bike on Craigslist.

And this year, I am stopping the clutter from even occurring by asking myself, “Are you really taking this all the way to Texas?”

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 1, 2011 11:10 pm

    Good for you!

Leave a Reply

