Skip to content

Art of Manliness Day 15 – Make a Meal

September 11, 2011

The Art of Manliness post

This is another day’s project that is preaching to the choir as far as I am concerned although I have cut down on making meals for other people in the past year or so. With the beautiful kitchen in the new apartment though, I might be inspired to do some entertaining once the dining table is assembled.

I did make a meal the first night I moved in:

Clockwise from top left: Bok Choy shoots sauteed with Garlic, Ground Pork stirfried with Green Onions, and a Hot bowl of Steamed Rice - the food I made Monday night lasted the entire week of packed lunches and refurbished dinners.

While I’m at it, here are some photos of the new apartment – the dining room area and living room areas are still in progress but my room is done albeit no longer as neat as when these photos were taken:

This window looks out onto the street and brings in a nice breeze

I bought a little footstool so I could reach things in my closet and the kitchen cabinets šŸ™‚

It's a small but sufficient rectangle room and I love the dark cherry wood floors all over the apartment - no vacuuming!

My little work desk in the living room where I'm writing to you right now

As I continue to remember the AOM days that have gone by, I entered a pupuseria on an excited whim while I was in East Boston for work on Thursday and I had a friendly conversation with the owner about having kids young, the importance of a college education, and Jamaica Pond. Probably the best conversation I have had with a stranger in Boston thus far, although I really enjoyed bumping into a family on my way to East Boston in which the 4th grader was super excited to go to school and was chiding her mom about getting there on time so that she could have another perfect record of attendance. That made me smile for hours.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Pattycakes permalink
    September 12, 2011 2:08 am

    The footstool comment made me smile.

  2. Chickpea permalink
    September 14, 2011 2:06 pm

    Am now missing garlic bok choy from Happy Chef, and wondering if there is some random Chinese restaurant hidden away in the warrens of Amman.

    Also, cherry hardwood floors are my mother’s (and my) dream flooring option. Daddy is ardent in his opposition.

Leave a Reply

