Skip to content

Day 18: Find your N.U.T.s

September 11, 2011

The Art of Manliness post

This day’s task definitely strikes me as a lifelong project – particularly at a time when my day-to-day living is full of demands, distractions, and desires. I started thinking about my Non-negotiable, Unalterable Terms on my way to Porter Square but fell into conversation with a friend – however, the decision to pay attention to my friend rather than continue ruminating on my N.U.T.s is indicative of what my N.U.T.s are.

What I’ve come up with today:

1. I belong to and am committed to a family. I have a mother, father, and brother. I love and care for my family even when I don’t like them. This family will always be mine and I make my decisions mindful of how they may affect my family.

2. To me, friendship is a commitment to be caring and responsive. If I choose to be someone’s friend, I will strive to be a friend that my friend can count on to have their back. I will not invest my time, emotion, and energy into relationships in which my friendship is not appreciated and reciprocated. Being a good friend contributes to my sense of self-worth.

3. “Student” is a way of life and not just a social occupation. I will remind myself of my dedication to be open to learning even when the lessons are hard to bear. I will pursue opportunities to educate myself.

4. I own my flaws as well as my strengths. I will be my own most honest critic.

I will keep on working on this.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

