Skip to content

Slamming doors go Bang

September 19, 2011

I’m on the phone with my father discussing a lunch date tomorrow. He’s asking me if I would like him to buy me lunch. I tell him I’ll bring my own. We talk back and forth about this for a bit.

I’m walking up a slight incline, getting close to the intersection before my dead end street. I had been distracted a few minutes ago by a tall man quietly walking behind me but became less apprehensive as I neared the road still busy with cars.

There’s yelling coming down Washington Street ahead of me to my left. My attention drifts away from my father’s voice in my ear to the sight of a skinny male running along the sidewalk seemingly heedless of traffic. He stops and turns towards the restaurant on the corner. As I think he’s about to dash in, I hear two cracks pop out into the air.

Everything seems to go silent as my brain tries to process the meaning of the sounds coupled with what my eyes are telling me. Then the man on the corner turns towards me and it’s time to make a decision. Do I run? And if so, in which direction?

I turn my back to him even though a part of me thinks that not keeping tabs on the situation is an extremely bad idea. It became essential to not make eye contact, to not draw attention, to appear as if I have no idea as to what was happening behind me.

I leaned against the side of the building next to me, trying to blend into it. The fact that I was still speaking calmly to my father was a surreal touch. The idea of getting shot with my father on the phone with me flitted through my brain as I waited for the shooter to get closer. He ran by me, a blur of off-white sweatshirt and ragged jeans. The gun an object in his hand at which I dared not look too hard. He didn’t seem to notice me. I considered breathing again when the officer also ran by me in pursuit.

I finished my conversation with my father. I turned around to look at the intersection. I started to feel my heart pounding. A few cruisers and a police van appeared and blocked off the intersection. Drivers were bewildered. I stood there for a little while.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Pattycakes permalink
    September 20, 2011 2:15 am

    WTF. Glad you’re okay.

  2. Cookie Monster permalink
    September 25, 2011 6:50 pm

    Oh my god! (This is what I get for being behind on your blog!) I’m glad you’re okay and hope the chase ended well for the police.

Leave a Reply

