Skip to content

Following in the footsteps of Adam Richman

September 22, 2011

1. Adam Richman is adorable.

2. He didn’t lead me wrong with Lucky’s.

3. I don’t like Man vs. Food Nation as much but the food finds are still good.

After visiting the RI State House and Brown, Cecilia and I took the freshman to the exburb of Olneyville for an Olneyville N.Y. System Hot Wiener.

I discovered on our way to Olneyville that Cecilia drives stick. Color me very impressed. She promised to teach me at a later date. I’m holding her to it.

I love old-timey signs like this

The three of us got the flagship hot wiener. It was smaller than I expected, cut into 5-6inch segments from a long hot link. The full gamut of toppings were mustard, meat sauce, diced onions, and celery salt. The casing was snappy and the wiener was juicy. The meat sauce could have used more seasoning in my opinion. The onion didn’t add much in the flavor department either although I liked the complexity of textures in one bite. We quickly began to contemplate our next food move.

Adam Richman, spreading the food love everywhere he goes

For me, the next food move consisted on another hot wiener, with more scrumptious celery salt this time, and a perfectly greasy bacon hamburger with tomato, no lettuce.

Bacon makes everything better

Say yes to more celery salt

I believe the food challenge is to eat 15 of these hot wieners in a limited amount of time, probably 45 minutes to an hour. While I don’t think I’d eat 15 of these guys, I think I could take down 5 easily. But Olneyville N.Y. System hot wieners cannot replace Wiener’s Circle Chicago dogs in my heart.

However, the restaurant did have very charming PSAs on the wall:

This is where all the magic happens:

To finish our meal, we had Rhode Island Coffee Milk which is not the same as Iced Coffee with Milk. This RI Coffee Milk had the creaminess of milk infused with the richness of hazelnut coffee. It was quite delicious and our RI authority was pleased. Throughout our experience at Olneyville N.Y. System, the guy managing orders was super sweet and patient with our questions. It’s a very nice vibe there and I do hope Brown students make it out to Olneyville for a snappy, juicy good time.

I could get behind an Adam Richman for President campaign.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2011 8:07 am

    I love this blog post. The restaurant reminds me of Hot Doug’s in Chicago, ever been there? Weiner’s Circle is great, too, though. My daughter and I were there over the summer and we had the char cheddar dogs and the cheese fries. OMG.

    If I’m ever in Olneyville, RI (?), I will check this place out. I sort of enjoy Adam Richman, too, but a little goes a long way, in my opinion.

    Anyway, thanks for writing your blog!

    • cissyhuang permalink*
      September 22, 2011 9:35 am

      Hi Dan! Thanks for commenting. I have been lucky enough to get into Hot Doug’s in Chicago to have the foie gras mousse-topped dog. Have you been to Frank N’ Dawgs on Clybourn? They have some great gourmet dogs as well and no Hot Doug’s line. They’re also within minutes of the Goose Island Brewery Tour.

      Hope you’ll visit again!
      CC

  2. September 22, 2011 8:23 pm

    I would make love to Lucky’s

Leave a Reply

