Skip to content

A Successful Redo

September 23, 2011

About a month ago, I went out to an Indian lunch buffet with some fellow VISTAs at a clubby place downtown called Mantra. The food, while passable, was not worth the price of admission. Determined to rectify this misstep in South Asian cuisine, and conveniently headed to Boston University for the Idealist Grad Fair, I picked Madina Market Kitchen from my spreadsheet of eating establishments. It didn’t look very promising from the outside, and while the Boston Phoenix had good things to say about the buffet, I was determined to order my own food this time around.

Just down the street from the Super 88!

What I picked:

Chappali Kebab - moist and spicy

Mango Lassi - so fresh and fruity

Chana Chat Masala - so refreshing with cilantro and jalapeno

REAL Onion Pakoras - greasy and savory

Sheekh Kebab - supple and salty

Going through these photos, I see that I forgot to take a picture of our wonderfully chewy and just slightly charred roti. Oh well, another photo of my joy in eating real pakora:

With double orders of every appetizer except for the chickpeas, our total came to $31.08 – pricier than most of the things I eat on this blog but par for the course when it comes to Indian (or in this case, Pakistani) cuisine. If you go, order from the tandoor! The restaurant owner assured me that he would deliver to Jamaica Plain…

 

Oh, and the swag total from the grad fair? 14 pens and 1 woven tote bag. Boo-yah!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lindsay permalink
    September 23, 2011 8:14 am

    want. pakoras. now.

    • cissyhuang permalink*
      September 23, 2011 8:56 am

      You should go! – CC

  2. Da 'Gos of Rosh Hashanah Past permalink
    September 23, 2011 12:41 pm

    I LURRV MANGO LASSI.

Leave a Reply

