Skip to content

Finishing up 30 Days to a Better Man

September 28, 2011

I don’t any of you, barring perhaps Brother Lagos, actually care about the completion of my 30 Days to a Better Man challenge. However, I like to try to finish what I’ve started so let’s take a look at what’s left shall we?

Day 25: Start a Debt Reduction Plan

This day is obviously geared towards people who are done borrowing money for school. I am not since I will be getting into much more debt upon attending law school next year. My undergraduate debt is not bad compared to others – about $20K. What I’m doing with the loans now is getting them all put into forbearance through AmeriCorps. Under forbearance, interest does accumulate but a part of my compensation package from AmeriCorps is that my state corporation will pay the interest accumulated over the course of this year pending successful completion of my public service. So at the very least, my debt will not have grown due to interest in this year. At the same time, I am striving to save at least $100 per month even though I am living at poverty level.

Day 26: Take the Marine Corps Fitness Test

Those of you who know me well know that I love the Marines. My former forwards captain told me that her high school actually had a Marine Fitness training program and that at the end of the year, they did take this test. I think that’s pretty cool. The pull-ups: I went to a boxing gym on Monday to check out their classes and facilities. I did five medicine ball drills for a minute each twice. Today, I can barely put on or take off clothes around my chest. I think pull-ups are out of the question for the near future although I can’t do one even when I’m feeling fine. This is something that I should work on if I want to become a better fighter and more fit. Crunches are the easiest part of this test – I banged out 20 in the middle and 30 per side during my boxing gym class in probably 2-3 minutes and I’m pretty sure I could do 100 pretty quickly if I needed to. Finally, the 3-mile run? I hate just running. That’s why I joined rugby – I needed cardio but I needed a reason to run. Someone told me tonight (oh, I also checked out a new rugby team tonight) that in a game, a forward (defensive player, i.e. me) runs an average of 5-8 miles. I can only hope that is true. I might consider running about Franklin Park once I actually find the weekend time to go.  Certainly, even two-three months of not working out regularly post-graduation has caused a significant decline in my fitness. With the return of boxing and rugby, I’m optimistic that I will recover and hopefully improve by the end of my service term.

Day 27: Start a Book

Like Brother Lagos, I thought this task would be to start writing a book based on the headline alone. Anyways, I’m in my VISTA group’s book club and we’ve already read Freedom by Jonathan Franzen – which I highly recommend. And I’m going to be reading The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks for book club as well and with my mom 🙂

Day 28: Write a Love Letter

Been there and done that so many times. Do not care to repeat.

Day 29: Conquer a Fear

Hm. I’m going to have to think on this one. The only deep fear that comes to mind is the fear of hurting the ones I love. And I’m not sure it’d be the better part of manly valor to hurt them anyways? I’m scared of getting shot? I think I’m pretty nonchalant about many things which could be fear-inducing.

Day 30: Get a straight razor shave

Yeah, I don’t have facial hair. Would I shave my legs with a straight razor? I guess…but I don’t think a barber would say yes. I actually think this is a pretty lame task to end on. I also remember now that I still haven’t made an appointment with my doctor.

 

[claps hands to clear them]

 

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Pattycakes permalink
    September 29, 2011 3:57 pm

    As a forward, I can’t imagine that the five-to-eight mile thing would be true. Maybe for the backs, but probably not for us! :/

  2. Cookie Monster permalink
    October 2, 2011 1:32 pm

    I loved Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks – I read it in my break between Institute and school. Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

