Skip to content

Ramen

September 28, 2011

I returned to Porter Square after a frustrating day of dealing with internet problems (fixed now!) for an apartment-warming in Somerville – what better occasion on which to go back to the Porter Exchange Mall and get some ramen?

The Sapporo Ramen line was moving at a pretty good clip for Saturday night dinner.

I’m not sure if I mentioned this in my previous post on eating in the Porter Exchange food court, but most of the restaurants are cash-only.

First order of business: Roast Pork Buns

$4.75

The outer steamed bun was soft and smooth but elastic in a way to give good chew. The pork itself was a bit disappointing because it was near the end of the meat – not as much marbling as I would have liked. One was dressed in mayo and chili oil, the other with sweet hoisin. I appreciated the bit of variety and the addition of sliced tomato for the mayo and sliced cucumber for the hoisin. That being said, I wouldn’t have minded some shredded scallion…overall, yummy and worth it until I find better roast pork buns.

The main show: House Ramen

$8.40

Hot, salty, milky broth. A few slices of more marbled pork. Fresh bean sprouts. Scallions. A piece of nori. So beautiful. So welcome after that wait in line. Came out very quickly and was hefty – Sapporo seems to be one big bowl size fits all.

I thought this was cute. Hot sauce inside.

Noooooodddlleeesss - appropriately springy

You gotta drink the soup

The entire meal was great but maybe because I filled up with an appetizer or I hadn’t eaten in too long, but I didn’t feel fantastic the way I sometimes do after a great bowl of noodles with meat and soup. Not that I would be adverse to having Sapporo Ramen again, but just that I don’t think I’ll be craving it. Still! If you haven’t had ramen this way – hop to it!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 28, 2011 11:59 pm

    That ramen looks pretty good…going to have to stop by one of my local ramen joints soon. They look like they’re doing a momofuku spin-off, or a take on the original Chinese idea? The crispiness of Macau’s pork buns is addicting, but those soft dough pillows look like they’d give my buns a run for their money.

Leave a Reply

