Skip to content

New England Idyll

September 30, 2011

I’m going home this weekend for the first time since moving to Boston and it is the weekend of our town festival. Last weekend, I made a trip with some friends of roommate to Stow, MA where we picked apples at Honey Pot Hill Orchards. While not as impressive an operation as County Line Orchard in Indiana, Honey Pot was a convenient distance from Boston and fun. Later on at Harvard, various apple foods were made – apple crisp, (an attempt at) tarte tartin, and apple kugel (I did not see this to completion).

This place let apple pickers use those funny fruit tree ladders - I wondered if this cost them extra in insurance

There were also little goats

Pirate-themed beer goes well with baking

If I think too hard about kugel, I get a little sick

France's most elegant dessert, unelegantly

I neglected to take a photo of my beautiful, brown apple crisp because as soon as it was done we descended upon it like Viking raiders. Oh well.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Chickpea permalink
    October 7, 2011 7:37 am

    I want pirate ale – argh!

Leave a Reply

