Skip to content

3 things about Harold’s

November 7, 2011

In writing my post on eating chicken and waffles at Fill Belly’s in JP, I looked up Harold’s Chicken Shack on Wikipedia and found a few exciting facts (insofar as we can take what is published in Wikipedia to be fact):

1. There may be one or more Harold’s franchises in the Dallas area. Will I drive from Austin to Dallas in order to have Harold’s? Maybe.

2. “A common practice is to take the sauce soaked fries and place them between the bread. Chicagoans call this ‘making a fry sandwich’.” <— I do/did(sob) this! Although I usually added the skin too – this allowed me to stave off excessive softening of crisp skin by sauce (I went from being a strictly mild sauce eater to mild and hot to mild and hot with salt and pepper) allowing the hot meat to cool just a bit.

3. “Harold’s chicken is cooked in a mix of half beef tallow and half vegetable oil, while most other chains use only vegetable oil. This provides a taste that is more similar to the traditional home-cooked fried chicken that was invented in the American South.” I can’t wait to visit Chicago in the spring.

Wait for me, my love, wait for me:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Chickpea permalink
    November 16, 2011 9:02 am

    There is a fried chicken place near my apartment. It is not even remotely as good as Harold’s.

    ; )

  2. cissyhuang permalink*
    November 16, 2011 9:42 am

    That is not remotely surprising.

  3. November 19, 2011 1:16 am

    The harolds in Hyde Park updated their menu signs and added an ice cream vending machine

    • cissyhuang permalink*
      November 19, 2011 10:35 pm

      What kind of ice cream?

Leave a Reply

