Skip to content

Anna’s Taqueria ftw

November 13, 2011

In Boston, choosing between burrito chains, I would pick Anna’s Taqueria over Boloco and Chipotle.

Boloco is very popular, often available, and well-advertised, but I’m not impressed with the slender size of their burritos or their divergence from what I readily identify as Mexican food.  Sure, sometimes it is nice to have mango and chicken in a rolled tortilla, but how does such a burrito then differ from a wrap? Maybe I’d change my tune for their Nutella shake, but again, Nutella is from Italy.

I like Chipotle, very much. The burritos are huge for their price and the carnitas is mighty tasty. I award authenticity points for the barbacoa and tasty points for the lime-cilantro rice. I don’t pick places to eat based on their corporate responsibility efforts towards animals, the environment, and farmers, but all other things being equal, I’m glad Chipotle is loud and proud on those fronts.

But Anna’s Taqueria, which I finally got to have a few weeks ago, has immediately captured my loyalty. Their carnitas were delicious. Their al pastor had pineapple chunks (as it should). And they offered lengua, although it was pretty boring. Authenticity and tasty points covered, their burritos are about the same volume as Chipotle’s for a buck or two less, and rather than being too wide to be eaten easily, Anna’s burritos are smaller in diameter but longer for easier eating. The saucing and garnish on their tacos was also pleasingly close to the tacos I’ve had in Chicago’s Pilsen neighborhood. Until I can return to my beloved Chicago and it’s abundance of Mexican restaurants, Anna’s Taqueria will do.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lindsay permalink
    November 18, 2011 10:58 am

    ANNA’S ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS

    ALWAYS.

  2. cissyhuang permalink*
    November 18, 2011 11:01 am

    I’m so glad you agree so emphatically. Why don’t we hang out outside of VISTA time, hm?

Leave a Reply

