Skip to content

I’m no Jewish mother

December 16, 2011

But I love the smell of Manischewitz matzoh ball mix during the mandated 15-minute post-mix wait before I can shape it into balls to be dropped into boiling broth. Its heavy aroma most closely resembles crushed salty crackers but so much better. My first pot of matzoh ball soup was made with frozen tomatoes from my parents’ garden, watercress, and Thanksgiving turkey bones. My second pot featured frozen peas, more of those tart tomatoes, and carrots. I love how the unique taste of matzoh gets stronger at the center of the ball. And, I still have two more bags of mix!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Brother Lagos permalink
    December 17, 2011 9:22 pm

    Cute.

Leave a Reply

